President Gloria Arroyo recently named the 7 National Artist of the Philippines awardees for 2009.

Jose Pitoy Moreno – Fashion Design

Cecille Guidote Alvarez (National Commission on Culture and the Arts Executive Director) – Theater

Manuel Conde – Film and Broadcast Arts, Posthumous

Lazaro Francisco – Literature, Posthumous

Federico Aguilar Alcuaz – Visual Arts, Painting, Sculpture, Mixed Media

Francisco “Bobby” Mañoza – Architecture

Jose Carlos Caparas – Visual Arts and Film

A National Artist of the Philippines is a title given to a Filipino who has been given the highest recognition for having made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts namely: Music, Dance, Theater, Visual Arts, Literature, Film, Broadcast Arts, Fashion Design, Architecture, and Allied Arts


About rodmagaru

I am a writer, singer, debater, dancer, poet, declaimer, artist, narrator, and actor and recently I discover, I’m a jack-of-all-trades. I never say no when people experiment my capacity to do things that others can do. I give the superb congregation of expectation to people who doubted what I couldn’t do and I always win on convincing them I could.. follow me on twitter www.twitter.com/rodmagaru

Posted on August 1, 2009, in ANNOUNCEMENT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: